Lakeville North speech team excels at state competition

2018 All-State speech team

Lakeville North students were awarded 11 medals at the Class AA State Speech Tournament on April 20 at Apple Valley High School. Twenty-nine students from Lakeville North competed at the state championship, 11 students were named finalists, and one was crowned a State Champion. State medals are awarded to the top eight finishers for each event in the final round.

Samuel Sweere was named State Champion for his first place finish in Humorous Interpretation. Tage Singh finished second in Creative Expression, Joshua Weinstein placed second in Serious Interpretation of Drama and Grace Hjort and Vanessa Nguyen placed second in Duo Interpretation. Zachary Peick placed third in Serious Interpretation of Drama. Teagan Klinkner placed fourth in Discussion. Lauren Davis placed fifth in Original Oratory, and Connor Glinski placed fifth in Storytelling. Andrea Schiefelbein placed sixth in Informative Speaking. Noah Gallagher place seventh in Extemporaneous Speaking.

Additionally, ten students from the team qualified for the Minnesota Speech Coaches Association (MSCA) All-State Speech Team. The qualifying students are Brent Hauck, Grace Hjort, Ellie Meyer, Vanessa Nguyen, Lauren Davis, Noah Gallagher, Connor Glinski, Zachary Pelck, Noah Schetnan and Tage Singh.

The head coaches of the speech team are Jennifer Baese and Yatesh Singh.

To qualify for the All-State Speech Team, speakers must attain a set of milestones established by the MSCA. Those qualifications include being a senior in high school, documented excellence in competition, including at least three subsection or section teams and at least two appearances at the MSHSL state tournament, and utilizing their speech skills in at least three other activities, such as National Honor Society, dramatics, or athletics. Community engagement is also part of the qualifying criteria.

The ten students who qualified for the All-State Speech Team were among just 58 total students to receive the honor at the MSHSL State Speech Tournament on April 20

Translate »