Secondary Curriculum

Secondary schools in Lakeville Area Schools include grades 6-12. The district has three middle schools, an Area Learning Center, and two high schools with grades 9-12. Students are eligible to be enrolled in Lakeville Area Schools if their legal address is within the boundaries of the school district. Open enrollment information is available by calling the Department of Student Services.

Middle School and High School Essential Learnings

The Department of Teaching and Learning provides guidance and support for curriculum, instruction, and assessment for Lakeville Area Schools. Lakeville Area Schools’ curriculum is defined by Essential Learnings. Through the review of research on content, instruction, and assessment and the analysis of state and national standards, staff determine core sets of Essential Learnings for each grade level and course. These Essential Learnings represent what students are expected to know and be able to do in each curricular area. For more information about secondary schools and their curricula, call the Department of Teaching and Learning at 952-232-2018.

Academic Standards – Grades 6-12

Lakeville Area Schools adheres to academic standards set by the Minnesota Department of Education. These are a blend of Common Core and state-developed standards. Click on curriculum areas below for more information on specific academic standards.

Secondary Curriculum

Artistic literacy is a combination of foundational knowledge and skills in an art form with the ability to work in four processes fundamental to the arts: Creating, Responding, Performing/Presenting, and Connecting. The Minnesota K-12 Academic Standards in the Arts include five arts areas: dance, media arts, music, theater, and visual arts.
English language arts (ELA) are all of the communication and language skills and processes people use every day to receive and send information. We receive information through listening, viewing, and reading, and we send information through speaking, non-verbal expression, and auditory, visual, and written representations. The ability to use and understand language is critical to every aspect of students’ lives and their future college and career readiness. The Minnesota K-12 Academic Standards in English Language Arts include reading, writing, speaking, viewing, listening, media literacy, and language standards.
The purpose of health education is to positively influence the health behavior of individuals and communities as well as the living and working conditions that influence their health. Health education improves the health status of individuals, families, communities, states, and the nation. The National Health Education Standards and Minnesota Benchmarks were developed by the Minnesota Department of Education to serve as a guide for districts for locally developed standards providing sample grade-specific benchmarks for K-12 health education. 
The goal of the K-12 Physical Education Standards are to develop physically literate individuals who have the knowledge, skills and confidence to enjoy a lifetime of healthful physical activity. To pursue a lifetime of healthful physical activity, a physically literate individual: has learned the skills necessary to participate in a variety of physical activities; knows the implications and the benefits of involvement in various types of physical activities participates regularly in physical activity; is physically fit; values physical activity and its contributions to a healthful lifestyle.
Mathematics is a discipline whose basic ingredients are numbers, shapes, and algebraic relationships. Logical reasoning is used to study the properties of these objects and develop connections between them. The results can be used to understand and analyze a vast array of phenomena arising in all of the sciences, engineering and everyday life. For this reason, mathematics is often called the "language of science.” We support mathematics achievement for all learners by providing guidance and technical assistance on implementation of academic standards, current best practices, and multi-tiered systems of intervention. The Minnesota K-12 Academic Standards in Mathematics are grounded in the belief that all students can and should be mathematically proficient. The standards are grouped by strands: 1) Number and Operation; 2) Algebra; 3) Geometry and Measurement; and 4) Data Analysis and Probability.
Science is the active study of the natural and man-made world, including processes, structures, designs, and systems. Science students use their senses and tools to observe, record and analyze data about the world and make conclusions based on evidence. Scientifically literate young people can understand basic science concepts, use skills for doing scientific investigations, solve technical problems, and design technologies for today’s world. The Minnesota K-12 Science Education Standards support science achievement for all learners by providing guidance and technical assistance on implementation of academic standards, current literacy best practices, multitiered systems of intervention, and science policy administration.
Social Studies is the interdisciplinary study of citizenship and government, economics, geography, history, and other disciplines in the social sciences and humanities in which students develop the content, concepts, skills, and dispositions necessary to be informed and engaged citizens in the contemporary world. The Minnesota K-12 Academic Standards in Social Studies include citizenship and government, economics, geography, and history.
The study of world languages prepares students to be linguistically and culturally competent and to communicate, work and collaborate effectively with people of diverse backgrounds at home and abroad. Speaking the language of others is essential for understanding their culture, and perspectives and for the global competency students need to be prepared for life and work in the 21st century. The Minnesota K-12 Academic World Language Standards are locally developed but must be based on the most recent ACTFL world language standards.

Contact Us

  • Teaching and Learning Department: 952-232-2018
  • Director of Secondary Teaching and Learning –Elida Kane  |
  • Secondary Mathematics and Literacy Specialist- Lana Rains  |
Translate »