Three Lakeville Area students, including a homecoming couple, named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Devin Prow

Devin Prow from Lakeville South High School

Three Lakeville Area high school students have been named semifinalists in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Devin Prow of Lakeville South High School and Benjamin Earles and Annika Hurd of Lakeville North High School are among 16,000 semifinalists in the nation to earn the recognition. Coincidentally, Benjamin and Annika are going to their school’s homecoming together!

The three Lakeville Area students are competing for one of 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million. Recipients of the scholarships are selected based on their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in college.

Lakeville South also had eight students who were named as Commended Students in the program: Nina Baker, William Blacklock, Sam Just, Caroline Kelley, Steven Olson, Dakota Rawley, Anson Tiong, and Julie Zeidler. Lakeville North High School had five students named as Commended Students: Meghan Dunne, Leo Shen, Joseph Thomas, Ivana Truong, and Jackson Wambolt.

Annika Hurd

Annika Hurd from Lakeville North High School

Ben Earles

Benjamin Earles from Lakeville North High School

More than 1.5 million students from around 21,000 high schools entered the 2020 National Merit Scholarship Program. The group of semifinalists make up just one percent of all U.S. high school students.

To be considered for a National Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist standing including an outstanding academic record, recommendation by a high school official, and excellent ACT or SAT scores. Finalists will be announced in February 2020. Winners of National Merit Scholarships are expected to be announced in Spring 2020. 

Translate »